Redoak Boutique Beer Café
from Australia
197th highest rated brewery (of 635)
Highest RatedBaltic Porter (84 / 100) Average score60 / 100 (Decent)
Lowest RatedBelgian Chocolate Stout (26 / 100) Number Tried53
Winter In The Rye
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 29.12.13 on tap
Overall:
73 / 100
(Very Good)
Called on the menu a Bock brewed with rye. Tried at Redoak on tap around late September 2013.

Pours a rich dark red colour, decent head maybe poured a bit too much. Head has a beige colour, nice density and good retention. Head is great; beer looks great but I feel the pour is a bit too generous with head. Not the beer's fault of course.

Smell delivers what's promised. Rye malt with light earthy spice and a touch of roast. Bit of German dry yeast and a distinct peach note late. Smells pretty enticing.

Taste is similar. Lots of that dry, spicy rye that quite dominates the palate. Biscuity, slightly roasty with pepper and capsicum. Develops fruity notes late that's more in line with my previous bock experience but somehow taste like flaws here. Sweet peach, banana, bit of brown sugar. Palate starts nicer than it finishes. This is not just a comment on how much I love rye; it has to do with how appropriate it is to mix rye in with this style. Face it, rye works better in ales, when it's cleaned up in a lager it's not unpleasant but it feels a bit messy. This is still a nice beer but when will Redoak do a roggenbier? Thats all I'm thinking. after sipping this.

Decent body, bit of texture, actually quite creamy as it goes down, if not for that slight carbonation sizzle.

I really enjoy this beer and I find it a bit at odds with Redoak's sort of "we know and make the best possible of every style" kind of arrogance that tends to characterise their stuff. This beer feels like the sort of experimental beer a new, funky startup would make. And it's mostly very tasty, and very drinkable. So... It does make me like Redoak a little bit more.
appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 4.25 | taste: 3.75 | feel: 3.75 | drinkability: 4.0
Organic Pale Ale
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 09.10.11 on tap
Overall:
43 / 100
(Not Great)
Pours a cloudy amber with champagne colour at the edge. Not much fizz but pleasant fluffy white head, quite dense, not leaving much lace. Quite nice.

Smells fairly herbal and organic. Plenty of cracked grain aroma underneath, with slight caramel edge. Hops are bountiful with fresh cut grass, chamomile, sage and a hint of citrus. Touch of peppermint on the back as well. Served too cold to get a lot of aroma, but fairly pleasant for what's there. Could use some freshening up.

Taste is very sweet actually, conspicuously lacking the hops from the nose. Malty upfront with caramel notes and pear fruit and maybe a slight buttery edge. Quite sticky on the back with more sweet grain and oatmeal kind of edge, just a hint of herbal hops on the back are not nearly cleansing enough. Lingering with a vanilla note on the finish, just sweet and grainy overall. Not entirely distasteful, but not a well-rounded or balanced palate.

Bit sticky as it goes down, yet noticeable fizz. Needs something to cut and dry the texture.

Have had better beers, it's as simple as that. It just lacks hops really, and as a result the balance is off-kilter.
appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 2.5 | feel: 2.0 | drinkability: 2.5
Bock
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 13.09.11 on tap
Overall:
69 / 100
(Very Good)
Pours a clear but vibrant red colour; lighter than I expected. Head is very generous but also nice and dense, quite fluffy on the top with good retention. Lacing is quite thick; not bad.

Smells fairly boozey and slightly vinous. Malty base with English toffee but a good sour bent from lagering giving black cherry, merlot and some cedar wood. A tad simple but stylistically fine.

Taste is fairly tangy upfront with unripe apple mixing with those vinous booze notes and cherry hints, some carbolic flavours mixing with noticeable carbonation on the front that is then placated and mollified by complementary roasty malt that dominates the back. Quite chocolatey, hint of spearmint and sultanas but mostly just a lingering Belgian chocolate flavour.

Really quite a pleasant bock as it finishes up, good warming notes and fairly well restrained. Bit too phenolic for everyday drinking but enjoyable enough for a slow sipper.
appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 3.5
Märzen
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 30.08.11 on tap
Overall:
54 / 100
(OK)
Pours a deep red colour that thins at the edge. Big head that is too big from the way it was poured. Slight reddish tinge to the head, nice speckled lace. Decent Marzen look.

Rich malty aroma, lots of caramel but it dips into the diacetyl realm. Touch of some metallic, bitter hop that is earthy and organic, slightly astringent. Plenty of the expected, rich Marzen aroma but it goes overboard.

Taste is quite buttery as well, more diacetyl. Thin midway, with overly sweet malt notes, finishes quite creamy with a slightly thin caramel flavour. Again has plenty of that Marzen character but feels residually sweet and a bit thin.

Creamy mouthfeel, not bad but leaves quite fizzy and harsh. Bit thin, but a decent enough lager body.

Would have liked a bit more to this, but it is really very drinkable and does have mostly the right flavours.
appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 3.0 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.5
Belgian Wit
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 01.03.11 on tap
Overall:
55 / 100
(OK)
Pours a pale translucent golden, bit more metallic in colour; not as pale as i expect from a wit. Slow bead and very, very light haze in body. Head is white, modest; retaining a decent crown & decent lace but yeah a paler colour and more cloud would be welcome.

Smells decently wit-ish: lots of orange peel on the nose, plenty fruity with lemon notes, a touch of candy and some bubblegum. Some spice aroma would get me excited, but otherwise all is there that should be.

Taste is also decent. Plenty of wit esters on the assault: citrus notes with orange/lemon and a touch of banana, some vanilla characters that are slightly too sweet and get stronger towards the mid, giving me an almost sugary mid-palate which is unfortunate. Phenolic yeast then takes over for the finish, but malt isn't there for a helping hand, hints of spice and medicine, but nothing really to balance. Slightly peppery but mostly a flat back palate where the body just dips srverely. Decent wit, but lacking that wow factor in a big way.

Overly fizzy on the front and yeah, lacking on the back. Not a fan.

They mostly hit the mark here but fail in some key areas. Drinkable though.
appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 2.5 | drinkability: 3.5
Old English Ale
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 01.03.11 on tap
Overall:
59 / 100
(Decent)
Pours a clear ruby colour, nice shimmer with off-white head, dense and pleasant around the edge and sinking slowly. Pretty nice.

Wow, where are those hops coming from? Pleasant hop aromas but there's little English on here, it all strikes me as Pacific American. Citrus freshness, with pleasant nutty notes, a touch of pine and caramel. Pleasant, but not what I was expecting from something calling itself an Old English Ale.

Yeah, that cultural jarring continues on the palate.Pleasant vanilla biscuity malt notes on the front with hops coming through early. Not sure what variety they are but there's plenty of citrus-forward character with candied orange, grapefruit bitterness and notes of walnuts and pecans as well. With this I really expected a milder, cleansing sort of ale and instead I'm getting a fair amount of hop bitterness and fresh fruit notes. Kudos for a nice beer, but I disapprove of the marketing and I'm compelled to call it an instance of Redoak's sort of preying on the uninitiated and just spreading misinformation about beer. This is pleasant, but it's not a well-done English beer.

Full, fairly slick body, with not a lot of carb. Pleasant. This is more in keeping with the English style, smooth and creamy and good.

Very drinkable and tasty beer, for my palate. But I just can't get past how much this beer is not "old" (which I might take to mean "in keeping with tradition") and not "English". This is like ordering a filet mignon and receiving a plate of buffalo wings instead. Both pleasant, but hardly interchangeable.
appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 3.5
Irish Red Ale
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 01.03.11 on tap
Overall:
65 / 100
(Solid)
Pours a pretty decent red colour, quite hellish with pleasant beige head, fairly dense with about 1 finger retaining. Clear body, slow bead running. Not bad at all.

Extreme malty smell, with huge caranel and vanilla and almost a buttery aroma. Slight bitter tartness lingering at the back has an urge to take over the aroma with its citric tinge and almost dirty edge, but I want it to remain sweet and malty, it really needn't be there. It is, though, the bitterness, and in abundance.

Taste is better, with the sweetness being more dominant. Almost makes me wonder if they used POR for aroma here, but that's absurd, why would anyone do such a thing? There was simply a dirty bitter aroma that doesn't follow through to the palate. Mostly caramel malt and a huge dose of vanilla extract on here; slight butterscotch edge but not enough to make me think overly diacetyl. Develops a nice fruity edge late-mid, almost port-esque with a touch of fortified wine which is odd for 4.5%. Quite a nice beer, with lots of complex sweetness. Almost as good as the Bridge Rd big red rocket, in honesty.

Surprisingly smooth upfront, for a carbonated Irish red, but then the sizzle comes through late to show its true colours. I really am a firm believer in nitrogenating Irish reds and stouts.

Probably a decent after-dinner beer, even though it's not overly sweet or desserty in style. Some smoothness on the feel would really improve, as would eradicating that bitter smell.
appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 3.0 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.5
Rauch Bier
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 01.03.11 on tap
Overall:
53 / 100
(OK)
Pours a Hellish red colour, with minimal head. Slight cloud in the body but not enough to stop light passing through, minimal bead. Looks minimalist, kinda meh.

Lots of smoke on the nose, very cedary and fairly dark with a caramel malt base. Decent rauch smell, yeah.

Taste is lacking on the assault, has hints of that caramel malt flavour but not a lot else. Smoke comes through midway but still seems kind of weak and subdued. Flat, in a way, without that rise and lilt of a strong German rauch. Lots of meaty bacon that does dominate the palate without ever seeming particularly flavoursome.

Could use more body, I think. There is a baseless quality to this beer and it needs something more for that smoke flavour to float on.

I'm not a big fan of rauchs in general as far as drinking goes, and the weakness of the smoke in this gives it a quite sour, almost rancid quality, and overall it's a bit flat, so I wouldn't order another.
appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 2.5
Belgian Chocolate Stout
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 18.01.11 in bottle
Overall:
26 / 100
(Nasty)
Pours a very dark-brown, mahogany around the edge. Head is ochre and modest when poured, sinks to leave nothing more than a meagre cloud. Lace is OK but not great. Looks alright I guess

Why so cold, my love? This is served about 10° lower than it should be. After warm-up it smells quite roasty, with a sour tinge. What embarrassing characters are they trying to hide by serving it so cold? Touch of rich cocoa? No, that's fine. Slight blackberry? No. Oak touch? No. Slight funk? Maybe, but it all smells quite good to me.

Taste is a big disappointment. Very sour, almost to a rank extent. Burnt espresso notes on the front move quickly to that slight infected oak note that sits uncomfortably atop the roasty malt. For 'Belgian chocolate', this has no chocolate and no Belgian flavour (though that's not what was meant by Belgian here). Very weak for the most part and I'm starting to wonder if this is actually infected. Actually tastes like our infected chocolate homebrew stout. Sour, insipid. Just off.

Mouthfeel is thin, yeah. Not much texture, a slight carbonation tingle, but not much. Meh.

There is a 2/3 full glass of this sitting in front of me that's been left by someone else. I'm not surprised. This beer leaves me with two options - 1, this is a genuinely bad beer that has completed missed the mark, or 2, this is actually infected. But in that case why would Redoak still be charging $7.50 per bottle? What a joke. Do yourself a favour and avoid this.
appearance: 3.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 1.5 | feel: 2.0 | drinkability: 1.5
Country Lager
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 18.01.11 on tap
Overall:
46 / 100
(Not Great)
Pours an English red colour. Head is a bit too big for a pour; was the bartender even looking when he poured this? Sinks fairly steadily, but nice and dense. Lace is fairly nice, a steady continuous bead. Not bad.

Smells quite sour with some raw grain notes: barley, a touch of sourdough bread and rye. Quite astringent hop notes, almost vinegary with a wet grass kind of ester. Not very fussed, but OK.

Taste is a bit bland. Fairly bitter throughout with a touch of amber malt on the front with a slight raw sugar touch; descends into fairly astringent phenolic hop bitterness, long and earthy witout much nuance. Quite mediciney and herbal; not very clean. Also not very bad but pretty blah.

Fair texture -at first- but overcarbonated on the back without a lot of body. Meh.

Not undrinkable, but have had better.
appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 3.0 | taste: 2.5 | feel: 2.5 | drinkability: 3.5
Oktoberfest Lager
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 28.10.10 on tap
Overall:
48 / 100
(Not Great)
Pours a deep reddish ruby-amber colour, clear body showing a steady stream of carbonation. Head is bubbly, nice beige colour; sinks very slowly, leaving nice dense lace behind. Great Autumn lager look.

Smells quite malty and fruity. Nice amber malt with toffee underlying. Moderate hop character comes over the top; a slight sourness to it, with a touch of citrus and pine notes, yeah fairly woody. Decent smell, could use a touch more malt on there though, the sourness pervades a bit too much.

Taste is very medicinal and phenolic. Lots of woody vegetative notes on the front, but very quickly overtaken by cherry medicine flavour with a boozey robustness to it, aided of course by the heavy malt base. A slight walnut character on the back reminds me of the better examples of the style, but the medicinal flavour really dominates. It trails off for the finish but leaves a bit of a kirschey hang; slightly sour but with a rotten vegetable aseptic flavour to it. Not exactly my idea of "let's celebrate autumn with shitloads of this".

Good body to it, full and smooth but not enough to cover the carbonation sizzle. That would be okay but it doesnt go with the fullness; a bit of a mishmash to be honest.

There is something really heavy about this beer. I think the fact is there is a lot of malt to it but it hasn't retained enough residual sweetness, so the whole thing just goes down a bit like cough medicine.
appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 2.5 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.0
Nutter
Reviewed by Jez on 07.09.10 on tap
Overall:
69 / 100
(Very Good)

Very deep brown colour, although it's clear there's a good deal of clarity to it. Head is minimal and filmy, but it leaves some very finely patterned lacing. Carbonation is fine, and stays static in tiny bubbles when swirled. Not bad.

Lots of liquorice and aniseed on the nose, quite sweet but with that underlying spice. Not much in the way of nuts, although the almond perhaps lends a slight marzipan character. Aniseed rules there though.

Taste is similar. Almond skin gives a rugged undertone to flavours of bitter orange peel, more aniseed and liquorice. Quite thin on the palate, could use some more depth. Bitterness comes through on the back, but it's almost a medicinal bitterness from the almond essence and aniseed. Very little hop character. Mouthfeel is certainly too thin, however. It's very odd, but it's not unpleasant.

A drinkable brew. Interesting and quite pleasant, with plenty of character. It's missing the raw excitement and aggression that I feel is missing from all Redoak brews, but it's doing something well, and it's certainly more interesting than most.

appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.5
Oatmeal Stout
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 24.08.10 on tap
Overall:
56 / 100
(OK)
Pours a rich, dark mahogany colour with only brown up to the light. Head is mocha-coloured and sparsely bubbled, sinks very quickly leaving a thin film behind. Not much lace, pretty blah, really.

Nice roasty nose, lots of espresso on that, slight charcoal character but sweet as well, with caramel and slight crème anglaise note at the back. Grainy as well, can smell oats absolutely once it's warmed up a bit. Less roasty now, more grainy, pretty nice.

Taste is fairly steady. Palate starts a bit weak, not a lot of malt on the front. Roast comes in midway and stays until the end. Lots of espresso bitterness and unsweetened chocolate with some meaty notes giving a sourness on the back. Slight aniseed spice towards the back - not a lot of character or profile to the palate, just has mild roasty bitterness come through. The only curious thing is that sourness, which I don't hugely enjoy. Not too bad as oatmeal stouts go, but not very interesting.

Feels a bit harsh at the front, actually, but goes down with oaty smoothness. A bit spicy overall actually but kudos for there being texture.

This drinks alright, but it has a heaviness to the roast character which puts me off a bit. I don't think I'm a fan of the style really, this has decent full flavour but just not smooth enough through the palate.
appearance: 2.5 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 3.0
Indian Pale Ale
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 24.08.10 on tap
Overall:
80 / 100
(Excellent)
Pours a deep bronze colour. Head is stunningly dense, white and generous and retains absurdly well. Nice haze in the body, not sure it should be there, though lace is pretty much perfect.

Appealing nose. Malty with plenty of floral hop character. Lots of sauvin on there and citric hop flavours with passionfruit. Whisper of phenols lingering at the back. Very nice indeed.

First thing I notice is that the mouthfeel is very creamy. Taste is pleasant. First hit of malt is caramel with a slight cream note. Hops come through a bit late and dominate the back palate but not aggressively. Fairly floral with citric notes and a slight licorice spice. Hints of splintered wood on the very back. A mild IPA but really pleasant drinking. Enough bitterness to be an IPA but really gentle, balanced and a nice, smooth texture.

I think this is a cracking drop.
appearance: 4.5 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 4.5 | drinkability: 4.5
Berlinerweiss
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 24.08.10 in bottle
Overall:
63 / 100
(Solid)
Pours a pale straw colour with steady carbonation. Head is good when poured, and retains remarkably well for the style. About half a finger left. Fast but sparse carbonation throughout the brew, great Berliner Weisse look.

Nice sour nose, very champagney indeed. Lots of fruit with white grape skins and wild cherry notes, plum and blackberry as well. All very tart and fairly light. Fresh and pleasant

Taste is not as sour as i'd expected, reasonable tartness, but really doean't pucker the way the nose made me expect. Fair champagney character on the front witb hints of lemon juice and a slight washed cheese rind note. Middle is crisp and quite refreshing with some grape character and mild peppery spice from the yeast. Overall a bit simple, a light and drinkable sour beer. With this little complexity, ideally it would be mouth-tearingly sour, though, which it isn't.

A bit of puckering on the front is the most impactive part of this beer. Finish is not very dry at all. Not bad, but could have done far more violently erotic things to my mouth and I wouldn't be complaining.

Actually quite drinkable which makes me feel it's not a great berliner weisse. I asked the bartender if they ever serve this one with blackcurrant syrup and he looked at me as if I was barking mad. I hastened to point out that I didn't WANT it with syrup, just curious. And for that reason alone I feel this is probably toned down a bit to make it drinkable. While I'm not an expert on this style by a long shot I would say that while this is pleasant I feel it's probably lacking some classic stylistic characteristics.
appearance: 4.5 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.5
Nutter
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 28.06.10 on tap
Overall:
75 / 100
(Excellent)
Pours a dark murky red burgundy-colour but mostly black. Head is beige, sparsely webbed and sinks slowly. Doesn't leave much lace but does retain quite well and overall looks good.

Smell is very fruity. Lots of berry notes and hints of citrus peel and plum. Really quite tangy, but a pleasant sweetness underlying with nutty malt notes and a mild chocolate hit. Pleasant, but does lean oddly heavily on the tang.

Taste is a lot darker, although starts out with more of that citric tang. A hint of orange sherbet and some fresh berries descend midway into a very nice chocolatey malt palate. Sweet, fairly rich, not bitter at all really, just some nice hints of fruity acid cutting through the bold, black sweetness. Hints of some currants on the back, roasty and sweet-dry. A really tasty beer, useful as a warmer. Toasty, fruity, rich and enjoyable.

Medium body, goes down nicely. Nothing special on the feel but has no rough edges so it's perfectly fine. Bit dry at the back which is not ideal but it can be forgiven because of the overall smooth texture. Very drinkable beer.
appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 4.0
Kölsch
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 28.06.10 on tap
Overall:
70 / 100
(Very Good)
Pours a pale amber colour, with small dense white head, quarter-inch thick and leaves some decent sticky lace around. Quick, steady stream of carbonation heads up the brew. Looks fairly average, beer-y.

Sweet and grainy nose with hints of honey and cereal malt. Minor hop notes on the back, slightly piney and light. Not a lot to this aroma but a fair balance, not overly sweet like so many kölsches I've had, the hops are welcome but not overly strong. Decent.

Taste is fairly clean; bitter throughout with notes of grassy hop starting quite early. Hints of barley and a mild citric note midway provide the majority of the flavour, but it mostly has a decent herbal bitterness and finishes clean with a mild acerbic character, maybe a hint of mint and a slight soapy character. Not unpleasant; in my view this is the best kölsch going. It's the only one I can stand, really. It's flavoursome enough but it's clean, bitter, beery. Mouthfeel is a bit fizzy but not overly so. Has a good body, and goes down easily as a session beer.

Good for an after-work thirst-quencher, really.
appearance: 3.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 4.0
Bock
Reviewed by Jez on 06.11.09 on tap
Overall:
70 / 100
(Very Good)

Pours a deep dark red-black, with some clarity. Like crushed dark raspberry juice. Head is a very fine and compact mass of beige bubbles. Lacing is good, although the body looks a little thin. Overall though, it's a fine looking beer.

Masses of sweet malt and molasses on the nose. Huge gobs of melting caramel, brown sugar and raisins. It's exceptionally sweet, and quite robust. I do enjoy the depth of character, even if it's only one character.

Quite a smooth palate, very rich, but again, overwhelmingly sweet. I was looking for a slightly drier character in the mouth to clean it up, but it's still syrupy and thick, full of malt sweetness. There is a slightly darker roasted character, and a faint noble hop bitterness on the back, but it's not enough to deal with the big full flavours. It comes across as imbalanced, but there's no denying it's a robust bock.

Pretty decent overall. Good characters, and lots of flavour. I find it better than the average Redoak attempt, and although it's not a particularly true to style one. I'll have it again though.

appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 4.0
Organic Hefeweizen
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 01.07.09 in bottle
Overall:
46 / 100
(Not Great)
Pours a slight pale golden colour with frenetic stream of bubbles feeding a generous white head. Fair haze in the glass. Tilting produces a sleek sheet of lace that doesn't cling. That looks pretty damn good. Or rather, it would, if it were a pale lager. It's a freaking HEFEWEIZEN though, which it looks almost NOTHING like.

Nose is a bit more wheaty, with a strong acrid tartness, actually quite meaty, with an off-fruit character, hints of citrus, yes, banana, and a metallic character. Maybe some light cloves but no spice from it, just a hint of fragrance. A bit more hefe-y, but not a lot better.

Taste is very tart, with a strong sour, meaty character and a long, metallic finish. Hints in there of tomato, lime and off-milk, but not done in a complex, poetic way, but as a big (not powerful) gush of diverse flavours all at once. If Weihenstephaner's palate is a road trip through the diverse landscape of hefe flavours, this is a cliff-fall, all in one swoop with very little finesse. Mouthfeel though is pretty decent, quite tingle and tangy and good for the flavour.

Finish leaves you with the sensation of holding unpolished silverware in your mouth for too long. Look, I'm not getting much banana or clove on that at all, just a mish-mash of sour. I don't think this beer is well-balanced, or indeed well-brewed. It's a bit drinkable, but it's simple and uninteresting. Fairly average.
appearance: 2.5 | aroma: 3.0 | taste: 2.5 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 3.0
Australian Ale
Reviewed by Jez on 24.05.09 on tap
Overall:
59 / 100
(Decent)

Dark burnished copper amber colour, with a frothy head of yellow bubbles. Some lacing. Little noticeable carbonation.

Some sweet sugary crystal malts on the nose, a faint citrus hint, quite sweet and candy like. With a light savoury character under it.

Quite thin on the palate, rather weak and thin, although there's a lingering sweet citrus character. A little dusty on the back palate. Mouthfeel is zesty. Reasonable.

Reminds me a lot of Just Another Redoak Beer. Not offensive, but just with that rather sweet and lacklustre flavour profile.

appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 3.0
Christmas Cheer
Reviewed by Jez on 03.04.09 in bottle
Overall:
65 / 100
(Solid)

Middling brown-red colour, slightly cloudy with a ring of slightly insipid bubbles. Body looks quite heavy, lacing is ok. Looks pretty nice.

Nose is full of tart fruit - cherries, kiwifruit and something darker like burnt toffee, or a dusty cellar. Even a light smokiness creeping in. Quite unusual, but very pleasant.

Initial tart hit then consumed by a dry cocoa and biscuit character. Vaguely sweet, but not really; it's more that I associate the underlying flavours with sweetness, rather than them being sweet in this beer. There's certainly a lightly astringent character, a little like grape must, finish is dry and dusty with a faint twang of cardboard. Mouthfeel is a bit flat, but otherwise a very interesting palate.

It strikes me that this beer might be a bit old. It has some vaguely long-cellared characters to it, notably the flat mouthfeel and the dry biscuit/cardboard character on the back. Otherwise, though, this was enjoyable, complex and unusual.

appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 4.0
Christmas Cheer
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 03.04.09 in bottle
Overall:
56 / 100
(Decent)
Red-tinged brown, quite dark colour, I had to really gush it from the bottle to produce any head which went down almost immediately. Some reasonable lacing, not much carbonation at all. Looks sweet and sticky, but not impressive.

Spicy and quite hoppy nose, rather strong hints of sultana, but not very sweet. It's actually not very hoppy, I'm mistaken, but there is a herbal or vegetative edge to it. Slight hints of wood as well, otherwise just syrupy and fruity.

Taste is not very sweet but with an earthy spiceyness, maybe a hint of ginger or nutmeg and a slight tartness, like cherries or underripe plums on the finish. If I'm to be honest I think this has gone past its shelf life, no matter what the 'best before' date on the bottle reckons. It's got flavour there but it's become quite bland and slightly dusty. There are reminders of some fairly pleasant fruit tartness, but it would have to be drunk now to get any of this.
appearance: 3.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 3.5
English Real Ale
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 30.03.09 from cask
Overall:
57 / 100
(Decent)
Pours (very, very slowly) an orangey-brown, with very very fine head with great retention, obviously thanks to the cask conditioning and hand-pumping. Gorgeous thick lacing with a fair amount of sediment cloud throughout. Exquisite.

Nose is sweet and almost meaty, almost resembles haw flakes. It's a one-note aroma although that one note is complex enough to be enjoyed. Quite pungent, and not bad at all.

Taste is quite sweet and lofty. Lofty is the word, as it's almost like there's nothing there. Kind of a wheaty character on the front and a banana aspect at the end. Overall, a tad too sweet. Could use more hopping.

Mouthfeel is almost like you're not drinking, it's so lofty. Fascinating, but I would like some more body.

This is really quite pleasant, and a fairly good sessioning beer except it takes an hour to pour a glass. Could stand to be more bold and impressive.
appearance: 4.5 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.5
Special Reserve
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 12.03.09 in bottle
Overall:
59 / 100
(Decent)
Pours a red brown kind of hue, no head or carbonation. It isn't meant to have any, I suspect. Very sticky and thick appearance, nice.

Nose is very sweet with raisins and a sheey stickiness to the nose. Nice, but not very beer-like. Or rather, not beer-like at all.

Taste is very earthy with an overdose of oak on the front - I like oak but this is a bit too much. Lingering stickiness that lasts through the palate, but isn't very sweet on the back. Another kind of woody character on the back. Seriously, this really isn't a bad drinking drop but I do prefer drinking beer. As hard as it would be to construct, this isn't breathtaking and it sure as hell isn't worth 22 cents a millilitre.
appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 3.5
Saint Nicholas Tripel
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 12.03.09 in bottle
Overall:
76 / 100
(Excellent)
Pours an orangey-red with heavenly thick white sheet of lacing, nice bit of head. Just looks sticky, alcoholic and delicious.

Smells like a heavily alcoholic botrytis. Deliciously sweet and sticky. Ohhhh, decadent and guilty. Hell yes.

Taste is the shit. Sweet and sticky, you can tell it's alcoholic but you don't care because it's very delightful drinking. Toffeed caramel and oh just sweet wonderful shit. Bit of a nasty finish mars an otherwise bomb of deliciousness.

Alcohol is obvious on the mouthfeel but is still very smooth. This beer gets you drunk.
appearance: 4.5 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 4.0
Baltic Porter
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 26.12.08 on tap
Overall:
84 / 100
(Exceptional)
Pours black-ish with brown-tinged edge when held up to the light. Virtually no head, but leaves yummy circle of lacing where the head would be.

Nose is very Belgian - rich and sour with a strong berry character and an almost brandy strength to it. Quite reminiscent of Rodenbach Grand Cru, only pleasant. Fantastic, even.

Chocolatey and thick on the palate. Has a sour woody character on the front but softens to very sweet and dark cocoa-rich chocolate towards the back. In two words, fucking divine. Such boldness and depth on the palate. Rich and delicious.

Mouthfeel is so smooth and velvety. Delicious.

Not a beer for every day, but save me Jeebus, what a beer!
appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 4.5 | feel: 4.5 | drinkability: 4.5
Indian Pale Ale
Reviewed by Jez on 01.11.07 on tap
Overall:
74 / 100
(Very Good)

Tried on tap at the Australian Beer Festival 07, although I should really go and check out the place itself sometime.

Slightly cloudy radiant orange gold, with a very nice white head. Very nice, this one looks good.

Slight toffee crystal malt sweetness on the nose, and a big bunch of luscious tropical fruit. Sweet, but balanced with a pleasant bitter hop note. Very nice.

Taste is also good. It's supremely balanced - with a great fruity character, a sharp bitterness to cut through the potential cloying sweetness mid way through, and then it finishes with a receding, dry refreshing character. Mouthfeel reasonably smooth. Very good indeed.

Very nice. Very drinkable. This is a well balanced, well brewed beer. Great stuff.

appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 4.0
Organic Hefeweizen
Reviewed by Jez on 21.12.05 on tap
Overall:
34 / 100
(Nasty)

Clear pale yellow, highly carbonated. Small, wussy head, no retention. This doesn't look like a hefe at all.

Smells very lagery. A bit sweeter than average, perhaps, but not a hefe nose. Where's the fragrance? Where's the character? Smells like a generic "premium" lager.

The taste is not quite so lagery. It's a bit fruity and a bit phenolic, and ends quite dry and yeasty. Mouthfeel quite smooth and tingly. It's actually quite a drinkable beer, but it's a shockingly bad example of a hefeweizen.

So, it's drinkable. Hey, I'd probably really enjoy it if they didn't claim it to be something it's not. When I get something clear piss-yellow when I'm expecting cloudy fragrant estery goodness, it's bound to be a disappointment.

appearance: 1.5 | aroma: 2.0 | taste: 2.5 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.5