The Flying Horse Bar & Brewery
from Australia
174th highest rated brewery (of 635)
Highest RatedBilly Goat Bock (76 / 100) Average score64 / 100 (Solid)
Lowest RatedThe Ranga (55 / 100) Number Tried13
Whale Ale
Reviewed by Jez on 03.01.11 in bottle
Overall:
59 / 100
(Decent)

Cheers to @laituegonflable for the Xmas present.

Pours a deep coppery golden colour, with a loose bubbled head of filmy off-white. Carbonation streams like anything. Head is a bit disappointing, and the clarity in the body makes it more reminiscent of an Aussie macro than I'd like, but it's not a bad look. Just a bit average.

Nose is a melange of butterscotchy caramel malts and a rather sweet fruit hoppiness. It's rather lacklustre all up, although the characters are stylistically acceptable. It's too sweet, to my mind, though. And again, I'd have to call it pretty average.

Taste is a little better, although here the hops take on a slight earthy tannin character that suggests a bit more in the way of English varieties. Still, the palate is crisp and bitter, enough to cleanse and to give some liveliness to the beer. Feel is clear and bright, with crispness on the back.

Decent enough. Not something I'm particularly impressed with, nor something that makes a good case for the Aussie beer scene, but a relatively drinkable pale ale.

appearance: 3.0 | aroma: 3.0 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 4.0
Dirty Angel
Reviewed by Jez on 31.12.10 in bottle
Overall:
68 / 100
(Solid)

Pours a light bodied, but reasonably dark-coloured reddish brown, with a lot of clarity for such a dark beer. Head is full and voluminous - extremely pleasant and finely foamy, and it leaves some impressive lacing. Overall, it's a good looking beer.

Nose is a bit dull, with some roasted over-browned caramel sweetness, and a little grainy malt with a lilt of organic honey. It's reasonably smooth, but it's also rather light on, and doesn't have a great deal of depth or complexity.

Taste is similar, although the honey sweetness wells a little too much here, leaving a rather cloying organic fruitiness on the back. Some roasted bitterness through the mid, but it gets well and truly overwhelmed by the sweetness, and it needs a bit of dryness on the back to clear it up. Pleasant biscuit characters and a light roasted nut roundness come through later, and these save it.

Feel is very smooth and quite slick, surprisingly bold for the apparent thinness in the body.

I had criticisms of this beer as I drank it, but the more I look at the whole picture, the more pleasant it seems. It's a very smooth drinking beer, and although the sweetness sticks around too long for it to be truly sessionable, it's a pleasant enough beer for a once-off.

appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 4.0
Billy Goat Bock
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 30.04.10 on tap
Overall:
60 / 100
(Decent)
Pours a dark ruby red colour, clear with light, slow bead. Head is retaining pretty well for bock a, and hooray syntax for! Lace is not bad either, quite good, yeah. Thought at first it should be darker but it's categorised as a Maibock so yeah, perfectly acceptable.

Nose is very sweet, with large amounts of toffee, brown sugar, treacle even and a slight honey-glazed ham edge. Yeah, just all those sweet things with a slight funky aroma later, slightly meaty I guess. Interesting, but a little sweet for my liking.

More sweetness on the taste. Huge honey and burnt toffee flavour comes through quite early with dark roastiness, hints of dark chocolate and molasses, and then a slight licorice character towards the back as well. The grain gets slightly earthy on the back but not enough to clean up the palate entirely. Thick, syrupy feel contributes to this as well and then becomes very dry on the finish. Not bad and certainly a decent attempt at a bock but not really to my taste. It just needs more gravitas and needs to be cleaned up somehow with hops or more bitter roastedness. Just a malt bomb really.

Had this as a 60mL sampler and not sure I could handle much more of it, but I give it points because I just don't think I'm a big bock fan. It's just sweet and heavy.
appearance: 4.5 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.0
Billy Goat Bock
Reviewed by Jez on 27.04.10 on tap
Overall:
76 / 100
(Excellent)

On tap at the Darlinghurst Local Taphouse's ANZAC Day SpecTapular

Pours a hazed brilliant red amber colour, with a extremely fine bubbled head of yellow white foam. Lacing is superb, really looks like an excellent beer.

Big and dominant caramel malt notes on the nose. Lots of homemade toffee, and an aroma of frozen bread. Even something savoury to it as well. It's a fascinatingly rich and interesting nose.

Smooth entry, with lots of huge caramel notes stretching out from the entry to the very finish, which ends sift and sweet. Mid palate is dominated by some almost astringent phenols which go the the verge of stripping my tongue before the malt character comes back. Really interesting.

A really good drop this one. Malty and rich up the wazoo, with smoothness on the palate and a maibock sharpness to cut it back slightly. Heavy on the palate, of that there's no doubt, but it's a fascinating and enjoyable beer.

appearance: 4.5 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 3.5
Dirty Angel
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 01.12.09 on tap
Overall:
74 / 100
(Very Good)
Dark copper with ruby infusion, clear body, beige head that's nice and dense, leaves a thin crown after a few minutes sitting there. Persistent but slow bead. Lace clumps here and there, looks good.

Nose is delectably sweet, lots of toffee and sweet caramel with milk chocolate, dried apple and berries. Not burnt at all, just sweet and rich, maybe the slightest whisper of diacetyl, but the intentional sweetness is well constructed, very enticing smell.

Taste is mostly sweet, with caramel and chocolate blending throughout the palate. Hints of Irish cream on the mid, then finish is slightly more sour, with a sultana character and a light roasted espresso bitterness. Maybe a hint of cola on the front, and light berry on the back as well. Nicely constructed palate, strikes a good balance between sweetness and roastiness. Great porter.

Mouthfeel is the thorn in the paw(ter), really quite thin, even for a porter but especially for a relatively high ABV one. Very watery through the mouth and leaves a little dry. Definitely needs more body to complement the full rich flavour.

Can't hold that against this beer though, otherwise a damn tasty, well-balanced beer. Enjoy this a lot.
appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 2.5 | drinkability: 4.5
The Ranga
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 01.12.09 on tap
Overall:
55 / 100
(OK)
Pours a pale straw colour - not very Ranga anyway. Head made up of small bubbles, white and impressively thick, leaves small lacing dots behind, but not much. Nice opaque cloudy body, with slow bead. Looks like a good hefeweizen. It's not a hefeweizen though, hmmm....

Nose, yeah lots of ginger on that with a goose dose of lemon. Actually smells remarkably like my mother's coconut, ginger and lemon slice. I know that's a reference everybody will get. But trust me, my mother's slice is tasty. Very biscuity malt behind it, with some buttery hints, but all topped by that pleasantly sweet ginger-lemon aroma. Pleasant, delivers what it promises.

Taste is not bad, starts tangy with hints of pale malt and a slight lemon zest. Mid becomes slightly weak and watery, just mildly sour from the lemon, before the ginger comes through at the back with a light zing, then re-emerges on the aftertaste with a bit of dry spice, distinct ginger melds with malt for a kind of gingerbread flavour. A bit simple overall, pretty much what I expected but little more.

Mouthfeel is quite full for the ABV, with good texture from the spice and fruit infusion. It's still a bit thin but doesn't disappoint, I guess because the flavours are sufficient to carry it.

Decent for what it is.
appearance: 3.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.5
Wollaston Wheaty
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 01.12.09 on tap
Overall:
71 / 100
(Very Good)
Pours a lovely banana flesh colour with great, opaque haze throughout. It's a little yellow glob, like a lemon jello shot. Head is very impressive, dense and white, dissipates leaving a nice white crown. Steady but light bead, and leaving some thick, sticky lace. Excellent - even exameplary - hefe appearance. As good looking as Weihenstephaner. There, I've said it.

Good wheaty nose. Lots of clove and herbs, with a very healthy banana aroma and hints of rosewater, cinnamon, fresh berries and lemon. Smells delightfully sweet with great spice aspects, like a fruit pudding. If there is a fault it's that it's too sweet, and the spice doesn't have enough of a kick to it.

Taste starts a bit tangy and then launches into a strong dose of banana esters, with hints of vanilla and a bit of a puff pastry character. Mid-palate lasts for a nice long time and then disperses slowly, leaving a nice allspice king of aftertaste, with slight clove at the front. Again, maybe needs the spice more at the foreground, mostly a tangy banana flavour, but still good. Well balanced hefe flavour.

Mouthfeel has a good sedimenty roughness, full and slow and chewy through the mouth.

The bar manager at the Flying Horse talked of this beer as a less successful one (talking in terms of medals and awards), and while it's not doing anything special, I have to say it's a really good, solid hefeweizen. It actually excites me that a small country brewery in Aus makes such an exemplary and nicely-balanced beer.
appearance: 5.0 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 4.0
Whale Ale
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 01.12.09 on tap
Overall:
55 / 100
(OK)
Pours a golden colour with a little bit of straw, dense head, sinks pretty quickly but leaves decent trails of white lace behind. Very light, slow bead. Pretty average.

Nose is very sweet and imparts a fair quantity of fruit. Hints of banana, bubble gum and vanilla pods. Some aroma of crème Anglaise from the malt and a little hint of mint. Not a huge amount of hop sadly, but smells sweet and quite pleasant.

Taste begins with slight citric flavour, then kicked over by more of that banana character, quite prominent on the mid, and blends with some light hoppy phenols that give off a slight mediciney bitterness. Breadiness on the back, with a slightly cloying raw dough flavour, dissipates to a lingering sweetness. Not unpleasant, but it's a little unclear what the intention is here, lacks the fruity complexity and the crisp finish - or bitter finish - that I expect from a Pale Ale.

Feels a little thin at the front of the mouth, mildly sticky towards the back, not a lot going on, but doesn't feel weak or watery.

Fairly pleasant drinking, if a little confused.
appearance: 3.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.5