Gose
86th highest rated style (of 102)
Highest RatedAMA (Currumbin Valley Brewing Collaboration) (87 / 100) Average score66 / 100 (Solid)
Lowest RatedI Ain't Afraid No Gose (40 / 100) Number Tried37
AMA (Currumbin Valley Brewing Collaboration)
Reviewed by Jez on 23.01.21 from a can
Overall:
87 / 100
(Exceptional)
355ml can purchased as part of the Carwyn Cellars Canvent Calendar. This is an Abalone, (Aniseed & Lemon) Myrtles Gose.

Pours a slightly hazed pale golden colour, with a rocky, coarse head of white that settles out to a bubbly ring around the edge. Minimal lace, but there's an unctuousness to the body that suggests more weight than the 5% on the can. Looks decent enough.

Nose is fascinating. There's clearly a briney note from the abalone, which connects with a base grainy malt note, but turns the whole thing strangely sideways and savoury. I get notes of toasted sesame, kombu and nori, with subtle undertones of spice. It's a subtle but quite beautiful nose.

Taste is even better. There's genuinely some beautiful craft here. There's a subtle dark earthy note of anise here which beautifully sets off the aromatic notes of the abalone. It's bright, but salty, again with umami notes of kombu dashi and sesame. But the finish is livened and lightened by a beautiful lemon note, which stops it from feeling too raw and organic. It's a pretty incredible palate.

Feel is light, which is actually a marvel when you have so much complexity in the beer.

This is a damn incredible beer. It has the same kind of flavour profile you might see in dish 2-3 of an 8 course degustation menu and a triple-hatted restaurant. It's really subtle, but infused with these wonderfully balanced flavours that you don't expect. That gives me novelty and actually opens up a whole new vision on beer. It's a rare beer to do that.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 4.25 | taste: 4.75 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 4.5
Guava Smash
Reviewed by Jez on 07.12.18 from a can
Overall:
44 / 100
(Not Great)
330ml can purchased for me by Sam as part of his 2018 advent calendar. Reviewed blind.

Pours a very slightly hazed pale golden, with a coarse-bubbled and very fizzy head that runs out of steam quickly, leaving no foam at all after a matter of seconds. Body is light, and lacking persistence. It looks very underwhelming, to be honest.

Nose is quite pleasant. It has a strong fruit presence, almost like a perry. But it's quite sweet as well, more like pineapple or guava. It has a metallic acidity to it as well though, which gives a slight chemical note—it almost has the smell of fresh housepaint. But it's almost entirely covered by that fruit note, and that's a saving grace.

Taste is not great, honestly. It has that fruit character struggling about in a great unwashed mess of competing characters. There's a vague lactic sourness on the front, but with a turn towards the burn of malic acid. The grain note is husky through the centre, and it finishes with a really quite genuinely unpleasant dirty yeast note that tastes like the dregs of warm Carlton Draught.

Feel is overly fizzy, but with a lactic bite in the finish.

Overall, I'm not a fan. It's very overcarbonated, the base beer is not good, and the fruit character is confusing more than anything. I do think that it has some nice aromatics to it, but it doesn't at all manage to integrate this into the finished beer.
appearance: 2.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 2.5 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 2.75
The Punch
4.0% Gose from Hop Nation
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 13.12.17 from a can
Overall:
64 / 100
(Solid)
Day 6 of my #fletchmas Advent Calendar from Jez; reviewed blind - which was a fascinating way of drinking this, and hence all my comments about this seeming like a NEIPA.

Pours a very HAZY pale yellow colour, with lots of HAZE in the body. Head is whispy, quite generous when poured, but sunk to a thin rim of bubbles. Not much lace. Looks HAZY, and pale, and like an ale of some description that's often hazy and pale.

Smells fruity, tropical, and reminiscent of other HAZY beers I've had. Huge mango pulp and orange character, some notes of guava and passionfruit nectar as well. Yes, all tropical; pleasant but a little light and insubstantial.

Tastes hmmm, yeah ok well in the words of Jamie Lawson, I wasn't expecting that. It's maybe not a NEIPA after all that, because it's far more sour. Big fruity fizz on the front, that develops this slightly underripe mango character towards the mid, with a hint of lime to it. Distinct tingle from the carbonation and a slightly thin body; the tropical fruit juice character mellows out at the end, and yeah despite that tart character I think it's all fruit and not a sour and I'm definitely back in HAZY territory now. Quite interesting though; fruit juice with a bit of a tart bite and nice drawn-out finish with virtually no bitterness at all. Quite fleshy and still clean and drinkable.

Drinks like a hazy IPA, but I kind of wish that little kick were later in the palate. As clean as it is to drink especially on the finish, it's also a little light, and short, and a little too fruit juicy for me.
appearance: 3.25 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.75 | feel: 3.25 | drinkability: 3.5
99 Oysters
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 12.12.17 on tap
Overall:
64 / 100
(Solid)
Oh, goody. My favourite beer style with my favourite seafood added. Looking forward to this. I'm being sarcastic, by the way, on all of that. On tap at the Empire Hotel in Annandale as part of their TAS State of Brews takeover during Sydney Beer Week 2017.

Pours a pale golden colour, really opaque and cloudy. Head is white, dense with some nice lacing left behind, a litle thin and retaining well. Looks decent for the style.

Smells tart, citric and quite fresh. Different from what I was expecting. Passionfruit as well. Quite pleasant but it's not really what I expected from the description.

Taste is a bit more what I expected. Has a fleshy seafood kind of umami character early on the mid, with some meaty notes. Has some tangy notes as well, with citrus and some weird smoky character that's quite smouldery without a good substance, like it's just kind of ash residue. Maybe a slight tartness on the finish and some salty character but nothing really gosey nor particularly appealing. Look it's interesting, and probably similar to what's on the label. But not really my thing.

Decent body; good texture as it goes down. Good for the size.

Yeah it's got some seafoody character, some mild tartness which is quite fresh. The mix is odd at the best of times and a bit bland at others. Not a favourite but really not bad.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 3.5
These Pretzels are Making Me Thirsty
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 30.08.17 on tap
Overall:
55 / 100
(OK)
Salted pretzel-inspired gose brewed for GABS 2017. The bready imagery doesn't exactly inspire me heading into this.

Pours a very very, amazingly pale colour, almost transparent with the main colour coming from the light haze in the body. White head, foamy and decent retention. I'm impressed.

Smells a touch grainy, maybe with a touch of peanuts, but otherwise mostly lots of air. Nothing to it, really. Less impressed now.

Taste is alright, and pretty much what I expected. Cereal grain upfront that develops a big yeasty bready character midway that lasts til the end. Touch of salt towards the back and a nice hint of tartness that stops it from being stodgy. Not bad, but not great.

Thin body, pretty much what you'd expect from the style and the size.

Not bad as goses go. But nothing special, and nothing particularly inventive either. I wouldn't really think of pretzels if it weren't in the name, I'd just think of goses, which are quite pretzel-esque in their natural state anyway.
appearance: 4.25 | aroma: 2.5 | taste: 3.25 | feel: 3.25 | drinkability: 3.5
Dry-Hopped Gose
Reviewed by Jez on 26.08.17 on tap
Overall:
83 / 100
(Exceptional)
Tried on tap at the brewery in a strip mall in Denver. Dry hopped with Nelson Sauvin.

Pours a very, very pale yellow gold, with a flimsy, bubbly white head. Carbonation is pleasantly fine. No lace. Looks light, but good.

Nose is ace. Noticeable Nelson Sauvin character, with a brighter sheen of coconut, coriander, and a tart briny seaweed salt. It's a proper gose nose, but balanced and done really well.

Taste is awesome. Even better than the nose. It's briny, tart and green from the Nelson Sauvin, with a peppery spice on the back. But everything is tied to the acid, which comes through cleanly and pleasantly. Finish is sherbetty, with touches of nori and Riesling. This is ace stuff.

Feel is sharp and clean in the entry, with a slight stickiness in the back.

Amazingly drinkable and fresh. This is easily one of the best goses I've had. If anything, this now shows me what the style can do, and why it's good. To this point I've been a little skeptical.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 4.5 | feel: 4.25 | drinkability: 4.5
Rye 'n' Gose Sling
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 25.08.17 on tap
Overall:
78 / 100
(Excellent)
Gose with rye and gin (meant to mimic something called a 'gin sling' I think? I have no idea, I'm a fucking beer drinker), brewed for GABS festival 2017. Tried at the festival in Melbourne.

Pours a straw colour, slight cloudy haze to it. Head is cream-coloured, foamy but doesn't stick around, as I expect from goses. Not bad.

Smells great. Really, surprisingly great. Some nice accentuated cereal grain upfront, with a big spice complexity to it. Rye but caramelly, and a fair touch of tangy fruit. That's so much better than I expected.

Taste is citric, mostly. Big lemon tartness but it has a lightness to the body which really helps it be palatable and refreshing. Some caramel malt underlying and a nice salt character on the back (oh yeah apparently there's seaweed or something in this as well?). Weird beer but in line with style and really well delivered. Tart, complex and ultimately refreshing.

Thin body and a bit flat. No big surprises there.

This is good. Maybe it's the rye, but so much better as a gose than I expect.

I retried this beer and it ended up my #7 beer of the festival.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 4.75 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 3.75 | drinkability: 4.0
That's Nuts
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 20.07.17 on tap
Overall:
57 / 100
(Decent)
Pistachio gose, brewed for GABS 2017 and tried there on tap.

Pours a very, very pale colour, practically colourless really, but also very cloudy so it's just this nearly-white glob in the glass. Bit of a rim of head, but really not much. Looks curious.

Smells fairly nutty. Buttery malt, with a salty sour and underripe green apple character as well. Not bad but I'm getting some nice characters, and some gose characters, and wondering why make this a gose?

Taste is sweet upfront, with caramel-vanilla notes. Develops a nice nutty character early mid and then the finish just turns tragically gosey. Salty, sour, and just eradicates all the nice characters in a terrible way. Yeah this is exactly why I don't like goses.

Decent texture, but a bit too bitty from the unfilteredness.

Not that great; salty and weird. It's a decent premise but guys look, just because gose is the hot 'weird' style at the moment (or was, I really don't think it even is, any more) doesn't mean you have to ruin a good idea by adding salt and lowering the ABV. I just think this tastes of wasted potential pistachios.
appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 3.25 | taste: 3.25 | feel: 3.25 | drinkability: 3.25
Salty Sour East
7.0% Gose from Stone & Wood
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 12.07.17 on tap
Overall:
61 / 100
(Decent)
Imperial Gose, brewed for and tried at GABS 2017 in Melbourne.

Pours a straw colour, massively cloudy to the point of opaquity which is definitely a word. Head is white, dense and retaining nicely. It's a nice head but I'm not sure it suits a gose; otherwise looks great.

Smells nutty; cereal grain on there with some sweet vanilla and caramel characters as well. Fairly simple but actually quite nice for what's there.

Taste is sweet upfront, with that cereal grainy note taking on some slightly buttery caramel characters. Turns slightly tart on the mid, with some grapefruit/lemon citrus character, and yeah a touch of salt. Fairly standard for the style but the sweetness upfront I suspect is a result of 'imperialising' this and I honestly think it would taste better without it, and with a more standard 4-5% ABV.

The body is undoubtedly more robust by virtue of the higher malt content and ABV, and it pads out the tartness quite well, even though I maintain it doesn't need to be there.

Not bad as a big gose, with some weird but stylistically typical characters. But it could have just been a normal gose and I think it would have been a pretty good example.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.25 | feel: 3.75 | drinkability: 3.5
Freshie Salt 'n' Pepper Gose
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 03.04.17 on tap
Overall:
63 / 100
(Solid)
On tap at Harts Pub; tried because of its entry into the GABS hottest 100 as the first (with Bacchus' Peanut Brittle Gose) gose in the list, and the higher of the two.

Pours a pale cloudy gold colour, quite opaque really. Head is off-white, tiny rim from the pour, good lacing density to it though. Looks pretty much like a gose.

Smells actually really pleasant (I hesitate to say, unlike a gose); really fresh and vibrant with a big citric lemon and tangerine aroma, a touch tart from fruit but also from the wheat byproducts, maybe a hint of salt but it could also just be a tequila-esque memory trigger because it's quite citric. Not actually very gose-esque, but it's in the ballpark and richer for not being too characteristic, frankly. Smells great.

Taste has far more gose characters. Grainy for the most part, with a slightly sour wheat note coming through upfront and through to midway, giving a slight citric note but also a bit of a wet grain-husk flavour. This turns savoury late-mid where the salt comes through to clean it up and leave it with a lingering tart freshness that is very light. Don't get much pepper; should I? I mean I know it's called that but is it actually an ingredient? It's very subtle if it is, and might have added an interesting element if it were more pronounced. Very light all over, really, but that also makes it very quaffable. Still, it's nothing special even for the style.

Thin, and so the carbonation is quite prickly. Could have been toned down a bit. Not unpleasant though.

Yeah I don't think I get the "hype", it's light and drinkable but nothing special. On the plus side it doesn't commit the cardinal sin of goses by being cloying and yeasty, so its a better example than some I've seen. I can see that it would stand out as a gose, but I'm a bit surprised that it stood out for enough people to crack the hottest 100 and stood out for people even among other Nomad beers.
appearance: 3.25 | aroma: 4.25 | taste: 3.25 | feel: 3.25 | drinkability: 3.5
Karengose
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 09.01.17 on tap
Overall:
60 / 100
(Decent)
Gose brewed with seaweed, apparently. On tap at the Keg & Brew.

Pours a pale yellow, slight greenish tinge. Head is flat, largely because it was poured by the barstaff at the Keg & Brew. Just whispy white notes of bubbles on the top. Not bad for the style.

Smells salty and savoury. Nice citric lemon note to it as well, with a touch of candied orange peel as well. But yeah, salty and maybe a hint smokey. Fairly nice, really.

Taste is not bad, but a little blander than the nose promised. Slight wheaty character upfront, grainy but gets very thin and empty late-mid with a very faint spice note. Savoury character midway, that tastes a little like fried batter; salty yet rich. Not a whole lot on the finish, just lingering trails of mildly sour notes, citric and some plain empty weizen notes. I shouldn't complain, as it's palatable and refreshing but it's also really quite bland.

Nice burst of texture upfront; good body, touch of carbonation fizz, then back is somewhat flat but smooth. Not bad.

Yeah I've had better goses but why is everybody making goses anyway? This is nothing special for the style, and it's a style of questionable merit already.
appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 3.75 | taste: 3.25 | feel: 3.75 | drinkability: 3.25
Bianca Mango Lassi Gose
6.0% Gose from Omnipollo
Reviewed by Jez on 05.01.17 in bottle
Overall:
69 / 100
(Very Good)
330ml brown bottle purchased from Slowbeer. I love the design on these bottles.

Pours a slightly hazed, pale golden colour, with a thin ring of white bubbling around the edge of the glass. Carbonation forms in thin streams, but turns powdery when the glass is tilted. Body is fairly light. Looks decent enough.

Nose is really very pleasant. There's a definite mango note—but it's punched through with a sharpness from the salt in the gose, which gives it a bite like you expect from a fruity IPA. Indeed, it almost gives it a sharpness like Nelson Sauvin or Simcoe hops, turning to the weed-like dankness. I like it a lot.

Taste is also pretty good, but once you have that dankness in the aroma, I'm expecting a punchv IPA. Instead, we get a rather pleasant fruit character, laden with mango acidity, but sharpened by salt, which is very noticeable, and gives a really quite lively character to the brew. Finish is semi-sour, with lingering mango pith, in what's not a bad combination.

Feel is a touch too light—a little more creaminess would probably help promote the "lassi" character.

Overall, it's pretty good, but I think the blueberry version was vastly superior. It had more creaminess, and more dominant fruit, which was then set on edge by the gose characters. This is decent, but I think it ends up lessening the Bianca brand to some extent.
appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 4.25 | taste: 3.75 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 3.5
Magic #3.5 Pineapple Gose
3.5% Gose from Omnipollo
Reviewed by Jez on 05.01.17 in bottle
Overall:
63 / 100
(Solid)
330ml brown bottle purchased from Slowbeer. Unadorned apart from a utilitarian black and white label and a smattering of black paint across the cap and neck of the bottle.

Pours an exceptionally pale greenish-tinted almost white. It's perfectly clear as well, which makes it look more like a light, dry cider or a particularly heady champagne. Carbonation is coarse-bubbled but voluminous. Looks pretty good.

Nose is rather savoury. There is indeed a noticeable salt character coming through, that gives aromas of oregano and olive. Under this is a slightly vegetative, organic character like Belgian yeast gives, and above it comes a weird elevated sherbet note. It's odd, and not entirely endearing.

Taste is similar. There is a pineapple note here, but it's so tightly connected to the salted note that it's easy to mistake it for something else. It only really comes through towards the back, dipping in and out of the carbonation, which is itself tightly coupled to a mild acidity—so much so that the acidity almost seems to come from the carbonation itself: like soda water. Hmm.

Feel is airy, frothy and quite thin—although the carbonation makes up for that for some reason.

Well, suitably, the bulk of my scores for this have been 3.5, which makes it a fairly average beer. It's certainly not bad, but "average" is "below average" for Omnipollo, who usually do much stronger beers.
appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 3.5
Lime Gose
Reviewed by Jez on 03.12.16 in bottle
Overall:
53 / 100
(OK)
22oz brown bottle purchased from Chuck's Hop Shop in Seattle.

Pours a rather clear golden colour, with a futzy head of white that fizzles out to nothing, leaving almost nothing on the top and no lace. Looks a bit underwhelming, to be honest: flat and dead.

Nose is appropriate, there's a salty ocean twang to it, but it's based more on fruit and tartness, and a spicy sweetness that smells like freshly made cinnamon donuts. It's actually pretty nice all up.

Taste is underwhelming. It's really quite thin in the body, and almost flat. There is some of that slightly briney character, but it doesn't come across as actively salty. The lime is noticeably absent. Instead, the back has more of that light cinnamon spiciness. In the finish, there's a very slight flat yeastiness, which is slightly unpleasant.

It's relatively unusual, but that doesn't make it good. I'm somewhat ambivalent to a gose in general, and when it's an underwhelming one like this, it just makes me go "bleeeeehhhhhh".
appearance: 2.5 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 2.5 | drinkability: 3.0
Bianca Blueberry Lassi Gose
3.5% Gose from Omnipollo
Reviewed by Jez on 05.08.16 in bottle
Overall:
81 / 100
(Excellent)
330ml brown bottle purchased for me by Sam from Slowbeer.

Pours a frighteningly deep beet-red colour, actually more like crimson-turning to purple. Head is a thick and dark pink that leaves little specks of lace. Body looks fairly light and fluid, but the carbonation is very fine. Gotta love that colour.

Nose is bizarrely good. There's a bright, fresh fruity punch from what I can only imagine is dry hopping. I didn't expect it, but it smells great. There are undertones of blueberries though, and a slight whiff of tartness, but this melds into the hop character really pleasantly.

Taste is excellent, but forces another U-turn in my expectations. Here, the style is much more noticeable. There's a tartness from the blueberry, and a slight lactic character which does indeed suggest a little something like yoghurt. But then, on the back, we get a crisp, dry finish, punctuated by a judicious hit of salt. It cuts short any lingering aftertaste or potential weirdnesses from the lactic character. The feel is also just right—it's round enough on the front, but cuts out to a withering aridity on the back. This, surprisingly makes it incredibly refreshing, with just a ephemeral linger of blueberries in the aftertaste.

Wow, Omnipollo have hit another home run, with everything stacked against them. I'll admit I was skeptical, but they've not only won me over to the idea, they've proven that I was silly to ever doubt the idea in the first place. This is a cracking beer: unusual, but when all is said and done it just feels right.
appearance: 4.25 | aroma: 4.25 | taste: 4.25 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 4.25
Mutagenic Cephalopod
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 20.07.16 on tap
Overall:
60 / 100
(Decent)
Smoked weird gose with a whole bunch of ingredients dredged from the Mariana trench. Doc is a weird guy. Tried on tap at GABS 2016.

Pours a goldish colour but an odd dark indigo tinge to it. Slightly cloudy with some webbed white lacing on top. Dirty wit colour, essentially. Bit weird, but not hugely.

Smells grainy upfront, with a touch of sourness, some salt character at the edge and an odd smoky meaty note as well. Some weird characters but mostly just a sour witbier character.

Taste is mostly sour. Gets some apple and berry character upfront that turns a little sour, then salt comes through and a fair bit of wood smoke as well but not until the very back. Mostly an umami character, which is not really my thing. Handled satisfactorily.

Body is surprisingly full, and carries the weirdness through the mouth pretty well.

Not bad, but weird and doesn't quite grasp onto any of its many diverse prongs, it's sort of a mess and I think Doc knew that and has embraced it as a mess rather than a particular flavour of weirdness.
appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.25 | feel: 3.75 | drinkability: 3.5
Loomi Gose
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 20.07.16 on tap
Overall:
77 / 100
(Excellent)
Gose made with dried limes for GABS 2016. Tried there on tap.

Pours a gold colour, quite clear surprisingly, with a nice dense foamy head. Pretty plain body, but good head.

Smells funky, with a hint of subtle lime on there. Touch of spice, and maybe some salt but I think I'm convincing myself it's there rather than detecting it. Fairly witbiery overall.

Ooh, this is an interesting twist. Champagney flavour upfront, with a touch of slight subtle funk. Bit dried finger lime character that ends up blending with the slight salty hit to create a sherbety orange flavour which dominates in the end. Tartaric, slightly sour and really rather interesting. I like this.

Decent body for the size, goes down fairly smoothly.

Wow, I had mixed expectations for this (I'm not a gose apologist, and I don't understand why it's the big style at the moment), but this is a really pleasant, tangy twist on the style. Trust Little Creatures - an evil big brewery that in between drinking puppy blood and torturing orphans find time to make some really cracking one-off beers - to put forward such an interesting proposition, and do it so well.

This was shortlisted for beer of the festival, and ended up my number 10.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 3.75 | taste: 4.25 | feel: 4.25 | drinkability: 4.0
Peanut Brittle Gose
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 20.07.16 on tap
Overall:
70 / 100
(Very Good)
Pours an amber colour, quite brown for the style, slightly cloudy with a nice foamy cream-coloured head. Looks alright, odd but intriguing.

Smells lovely and sweet. Huge salted caramel aroma, with uncooked dough sweetness and some burnt sugar toffee notes around the edge. It's very much just sweet, but it smells phenomenal.

Taste is a little bit of a let-down, just because the salt really dominates rather than elevating the sweetness as I'd expected from the nose. Still, lots of caramel flavour, cake batter and some toffeed edges. Overall still very sweet, but the salt just comes through in a really big way. Lingers a little sweet, and oddly so, almost insipid. Just not as good as the nose promised.

Decent body for the size, goes down nicely.

I like the idea, but the salt just takes it into a weird savoury territory where it doesn't belong.

Retroactively I can see why this got the people's choice award in the end as it's at the very least fascinating, but at the same time it didn't really work for me. Just quietly, Bacchus' Lemon Lime & Bitters beer last year - regarded as a bit of a failure by the brewer - was a far superior beer to this. But what do I know.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 4.75 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 3.75 | drinkability: 3.5
Green and Gold
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 20.07.16 on tap
Overall:
46 / 100
(Not Great)
A tequila/kiwi gose brewed for GABS festival 2016. Tried on tap at the Melbourne festival.

Pours a straw colour, hugely cloudy and not really letting light through. Dense white head also looks nice. Very very pale and maybe just a bit too cloudy. Looks intriguing but somewhat intimidating.

Smells of tequila. Big agave character, with a touch of salt as well. Some mild grapefruit character on the back and some coriander spice. Slight yeasty note as well. Bit sharp.

Taste is tangy, citric. Big lemon notes and a fair whack of banana upfront, then the finish is fairly spicy and boozey, with some coriander seed, salt and tequila notes. Seems a bit unbalanced, with the mid-palate kind of lacking. Sweet upfront and heavy on the back.

Body is thin which allows for a big fizzy carbonation note to cut through, undesirably.

Yeah, not really a fan of this. Tastes like a tequila slammer - citrus, salt and booze. It's not done anything creative with that, so I guess if you're a tequila fan this might be great for you, but I'm not so I'm seeking something more enjoyable and beery.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 2.75 | taste: 2.75 | feel: 2.5 | drinkability: 3.0
Salt 'n' Pepa-berry Gose
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 02.05.16 on tap
Overall:
55 / 100
(OK)
On tap at the Royal Albert.

Pours a pale gold colour, steady trickle of bead. Head is white, dense but sinks to thinness fairly quickly. Decent lacing left behind. Quite cloudy. Looks up to par.

Smells wheaty. Big earthy spice aroma with pepper and some light banana and orange notes at the edge. Touch of light, creamy grain liquor. Not bad, big and spicy but smells hefe-y rather than gose-y.

Taste has far more salt upfront and on the finish. Quite sour as it moves to mid-palate, with weak citrus notes and some tart banana character as well that moves to the back. The salt comes through very strongly but so does a yeasty character that overall gives it a very undercooked bread dough flavour. Bit savoury and has an unpleasant twinge to be honest. Really needs more of the spice the nose promised, just for balance and grounding.

Seems thin at times but there's some substance there to keep it going. Not bad.

Fairly to style; doesn't quite carry off an odd brief though, and needs something to add the sweet drinking spot as it just tastes like things you wouldn't normally drink.

As a sidenote, I'm really not sure why 'gose' is suddenly the in-style in Australia. I'd consider myself a fairly seasoned drinker and I don't love them, yet they don't strike me as something with mass appeal, so it's been quite unexpected as a trend.
appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 3.0 | feel: 3.25 | drinkability: 3.25
Strandhogg
Reviewed by Jez on 19.01.16 in bottle
Overall:
56 / 100
(OK)
500ml brown bottle purchased from Slowbeer in Melbourne. A blackberry gose, you say? Well, I won't turn something like that down.

Pours perhaps the most unique colour I've ever seen: an almost lurid puce, very cloudy, to the point that it looks like coloured milk. It also seems to be very lightly carbonated, or not carbonated at all, to the extent that the only bubbles that form seem to be from the perturbation of the pour. The colour is immensely intriguing, however.

Nose is also very interesting. Initially, it smells like berry jam, but underneath it are some genuinely odd undertones. I get a little seaweed, some oxidised Chardonnay and even something like hotdog franks. There is a vinous tone to it, almost buttery oak, that tries to pull it up into some semblance of normality, but there's so much else that's very weird.

Taste is surprisingly lightweight. There's actually very little acidity to it beyond the kind of level you'd expect from fruit juice or seltzer water. The fruit lends a surprisingly unwelcome fragrant sweetness over the top, which actually cuts back quite significantly on the refreshing quality of the otherwise light and unremarkable palate. Finish turns slightly minerally—not as salty as some other Goses I've had, but with that slight bite of something savoury on the back.

Overall, I'm not convinced I'm fan. Apart from the colour, and the slightly twisted, slightly unpleasant aromatics it adds, the blackberry is a superfluous addition—and here it feels like an gimmick. It's not an awful beer, but it's a beer that certainly feels unnecessary.
appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 3.25 | taste: 3.25 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.25
Blood Orange Gose (Highway 128 Session Series)
Reviewed by Jez on 04.01.16 in bottle
Overall:
77 / 100
(Excellent)
12oz can purchased from Slowbeer in Melbourne.

Pours a pretty pale straw colour, hazy in the glass, but perhaps with just a suggestion of a ruby heart in the deeper parts of the glass. Head froths white initially, but settles out to a minimal, fine ring that leaves little lace. Carbonation is fine and rapid. Looks decent.

It's hard to deny that the first whiff of the aroma smells like Fanta. Once you get beyond this, there is a slight twinge more sophistication. A little earthy tone, perhaps some salinity, and even a slight yeast pong. Even the orange note feels a little sharper and more natural, which helps. It's quite pleasant.

Taste initially has a strong tart citrus note; orange pith and underripe juice. This is cut by the true tartness giving a faint lacto bite, mingled with a mineral character that suggests salt, but isn't quite salt in itself. Aftertaste continues the mineral note with a hint of chlorine. It's well-integrated though, and the flavours seem to complement and balance each other nicely. It makes for a good palate.

Feel is very clean and crisp, which again emphasises the drinkability.

Overall, it's a smashable beer with a definite skew to the unusual. But it also makes us wonder why it does feel unusual: it's a refreshing, tasty and very drinkable brew that would really work well as a summer drinking brew. Expect to see more Goses making the leap to the mainstream, if this is any guide.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 4.25 | drinkability: 4.25
Cha Chan Teng Gose
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 11.11.15 on tap
Overall:
63 / 100
(Solid)
On tap at The Ale Project.

Pours a pale yellow, slightly cloudy with slow bead. White head that kind of dies (Bec's phrasing). Lace is OK but not amazing. Looks decent for the style.

Lime on there, with slight tartness. Touch of savoury salt edge and some spice, mostly paprika, which is weird but not unwelcome. Soft drinky but savoury. Pretty decent.

Taste is quite tart, lime abounds with sour and refreshing characters. Not much else and lacking salt character to give some eztra dimension. Yeah pretty nice, refreshing but I'd love more salt to savourify it.

Slightly sizzly, bit thin. Not great. But OK for style.

Not a lot wrong with it, except for the distinct lack of salt. Could have been really exciting.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 3.75 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.5
Original Ritterguts Gose
Reviewed by Jez on 07.10.15 in bottle
Overall:
72 / 100
(Very Good)
50cl brown bottle purchased from K&L Wine Merchants in Redwood City, CA.

Pours a firm golden colour, with a minimal, slight head of white that settles in as a thin ring around the glass. Minimal lace. Body looks fairly flat and still, which is a bit of a shame. I'd like it to look more invigorating and refreshing.

Nose is immediately pretty intense. Minerals and gunpowder, certainly the suggestion of sourness, with lemon verbena and acid. The mineral tone is actually pretty confronting, turning towards ammonia salts, sulphur and flaring magnesium. Under it is an actual grainy note, which is perhaps the first thing that actually smells like any beer I know and love—it's unique and very odd.

Taste is a lot more palatable, and a lot more like the Goses I've had in the past. Mildly tart, clean and refreshing, with a little salinity kicking the back of the palate. Mild spiciness elevates everything as well. The malt that was present on the nose is fairly absent here, although it has a slickness which cushions the palate against the acidity. It's nice.

Feel is actually ok. There's more weight than you'd expect for a 4.2% ABV beer, but there's a very fine fizz of carbonation to cut through it, and the mild acid and salt helps sharpen it so it doesn't clag.

Overall, it's a genuinely very interesting Gose—indeed, this is the kind of odd, slightly off-putting beer I was expecting when I first heard of the style. Although it's something that does make me quail a little, I think this is possibly the best example I've had.
appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 3.5 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 4.0
I Ain't Afraid No Gose
Reviewed by Jez on 12.07.15 on tap
Overall:
40 / 100
(Not Great)
Tried on-tap at GABS 2015 in Melbourne.

Pours a very pale straw colour with a relatively clear body. Weight is quite light, holding some nonetheless rather languid minimal carbonation. Head is white leaving only a faint ring that produces a little sheeting lace. Looks okay.

Nose is really very dull. Almost like a generic Aussie lager, with perhaps a slight farty tartness to it. Otherwise, it just smells light, dry and cold. I'm unimpressed.

Taste is a little more tart on the front, but does indeed dwell on this kind of lagery, yeasty character that ends up giving a flat character of wet flour. Back is unpleasant and dank, with a nasty yeast character. Not much on the aftertaste: very flat.

Feel is very light.

It's not awful, but that's the best I can say. It's just really uninspired and certainly not a very interesting Gose. I'm not a fan.
appearance: 3.25 | aroma: 2.0 | taste: 2.5 | feel: 3.0 | drinkability: 3.0
I Ain't Afraid No Gose
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 09.06.15 on tap
Overall:
56 / 100
(Decent)
Pours a very pale straw colour, almost completely transparent. Head is white, foamy, but dissipates quickly. Really clear-looking. OK for the style but doesn't really appeal.

Smells grainy. Puffed rice, with a light buttery sweetness to it, and a touch of something - maybe salt but has a tinge of apple crisp tartness. Hops maybe as well? Not sure.

Taste is grainy upfront, but with a slight edge to it. Not just cereally, develops some bready notes late, a touch of salt on the mid and then finishes mildly fruity, again with that underripe apple crispness. Not bad, but nothing too exciting.

Thin body, bit of carbonation sizzle to it unfortunately, but OK for the style.

Decent gose, but doesn't really pop with flavour like I've seen in other examples of the style. It's rare for me to want more salt from a beer, but in this case I think it's appropriate.
appearance: 3.25 | aroma: 3.25 | taste: 3.25 | feel: 3.25 | drinkability: 3.25
Beautiful & Strange (De Molen Collaboration)
3.7% Gose from Brewfist
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 03.11.14 in bottle
Overall:
62 / 100
(Decent)
Pale straw colour, cloudy with a pale edge. Head is bubbly, white around the edge, just lace really. Not bad.

Smells lemony, note of banana, champagne and almost sour. Not much salt. OK.

Taste is wheaty, slightly tart. Lime notes, touch of finger lime with slight pepper, maybe some sea salt on the back, yeah. Rock salt even. Quite a nice edge, quite robust. Margarita-esque. Decent.

Fluid, quite empty though. Bit sharp.

OK gose, not quite enough salt on there, maybe not quite enough character.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 3.25 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 3.5
Golden Gate Gose
Reviewed by Jez on 12.07.14 in bottle
Overall:
80 / 100
(Excellent)
750ml brown bottle purchased from K&L Wine Merchants in Redwood City, CA. Brought back to Sydney where I shared it with Chris and Sam.

Pours a relatively clear golden colour, with a fine, but minimal head of white. Some streaking sudsy lace, and fairly fine carbonation. Body is very light, as it should be. Pretty standard, but fairly nice.

Nose is very interesting. There's a pronounced mineral character giving a saline twang to everything else, while the acidity presents itself as a clean tartness like citrus and olive brine. Weird overtones of chlorine and artificial raspberry. It's very unique.

Taste is excellent. Very clean, bright acidity blunted by a noticeable mineral salt character—while it doesn't actually taste salty, there's the definite sense that there's a great deal of dissolved ions in it. Finish is clean, but lingering with a slightly metallic character. Feel is bright, but slightly sudsy for some reason.

Overall, this is a really cracking gose. Salt character is soft, but works really pleasantly with the tartness. It's a balance you don't see in any other style, but I think Almanac has nailed the way it's meant to be.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 4.25 | taste: 4.25 | feel: 3.75 | drinkability: 4.25
Doctor's Orders Electrolyte Forte
Reviewed by Jez on 09.06.14 on tap
Overall:
67 / 100
(Solid)
An imperial gose formed by ice-distillation of Doc's regular Electrolyte. Tried on-tap at GABS in Melbourne.

Pours a very, very pale lemon colour, with huge chalky haze to it. Weight is very solid and stable in the glass. Head is a frothy firm white that doesn't leave much lace as it goes down. Looks the business though.

Nose is fairly light, balancing between sweet and savoury. Lemon candy characters come through, but so does a dustiness leaving the aromas semi-savoury. It's light and clean at least.

Light entry to the palate before some tart lemony characters come through which remind me of Doc's original brewing of Zephyr. Back has a slight medicinal character and a noticeable booze. Aftertaste is slightly metallic, which could well be the salt from the gose.

Feel is thick and chewy, which is quite good.

Overall, it's decent enough, but I was surprised it wasn't more crazy in terms of flavour given a) GABS, b) Doc and c) the concept itself. It's still solid stuff though, and I'm certainly pleased to have tried it.
appearance: 4.25 | aroma: 3.75 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 3.75 | drinkability: 3.75
Gose
Reviewed by Jez on 04.05.14 on tap
Overall:
75 / 100
(Very Good)
On-tap at CASK Pub and Kitchen in Pimlico, London.

Pours a peachy, dirty golden colour, so thick with haze it's unbelievable. It looks like nectar. Weight is decent enough. Head forms almost nothing, just a few bubbles clinging to the outside—no lace, no carbonation. It looks extremely freaking weird.

Yep, weird is going to be the by-word here, I can tell. Nose has pear chutney, green-apple skin and funky lemon, slashed with brine. Salt-and-pepper fried squid and olive juice complete the picture. It's vivid and strong, and almost cacophonic. Outstanding.

Tart clingy entry on the palate. Stacks of unripe fruit acidity, leading to a true apple cider vinegar character. Banana and pear juice come through on the mid-palate before the salt wells up on the back, leaving a sharp brine flavour. Aftertaste lingers with salt and vinegar. Feel is light and biting.

This is so intense—it's hard to say really whether I like it or not. In any case it's a riproaring gose. Huge, intense, bigger and more outrageous than any other I've had. Keep it up, guys.
appearance: 3.5 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 4.0 | drinkability: 4.0
Gose Bier
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 08.08.13 on tap
Overall:
72 / 100
(Very Good)
On tap at Vices & Versa.

Pours a pale straw colour and hazy. Head an uneven cloud, half-moon style white foam. Trickle of bead. Quite good.

Fruity nose. Banana ,citrus and yeah an odd savoury note maybe slightly umami. Salt is there, but complementary and quite refreshing. Pleasant.

Taste is distinctly odd. Fruity with green apple, slight tartness. Salty from the get go, giving a cocktail glass note to it and a slight savoury batter flavour. Quite doughy on the back, like unleavened bread and slight medicine note. Very interesting, but kudos for it being quite drinkable.

Quite a thick mouthfeel actually. Fairly fluid though; interesting.

I think this is my first gose, or one of only two or three. Wouldn't mind more based on this. Interesting and palatable.
appearance: 3.75 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 4.0 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 3.75
Leipziger Gose
Reviewed by LaitueGonflable on 27.05.11 in bottle
Overall:
73 / 100
(Very Good)
Exciting dive into a new style; this one was given to me blind so I had no idea what I was drinking.

Pale straw colour, nice and opaque. Head is white, nice and creamy with pleasant clingy lace, just a thin crown. Really rather pleasant.

Smells very rank, but in a good way. Massive earthy, rubbery funk with acid of a citric nature, organic grain notes with a touch of livestock feed, wet hay and some really pleasant and piquant spice notes, including star anise and coriander. Great.

Taste is a bit of a letdown, but still not bad at all. Lots of wheat character with tart, raw wheat notes, some citric character that comes through on the mid and lingers towards the back but is unsupported by malt so ends up being a tad insipid. Slight tangerine twist to it, hints of yellow capsicum, rice vinegar and maybe some coriander. Decent palate, not amazing though.

Decently full and smooth, bit of drying texture towards the back. Quite nice.

Good drinkin' beer, nice and flavoursome but it pulls back in the important areas to make it quaffable. Salt is not detectable - all the more power for it.
appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 4.5 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 4.5
Leipziger Gose
Reviewed by Jez on 26.05.11 in bottle
Overall:
68 / 100
(Solid)
My very first Gose! Terribly exciting, even though I don't have anything to compare it against. Purchased from Healthy Spirits in San Francisco, where Dave was quite excited about it. Brought back to Sydney to share with @LaitueGonflable.

Pours a hazed lemony colour, rather like a hefeweizen, but probably lighter than the usual German hef. Fine white head that stays as a clean and clinging film to the top of the glass. Minimal body and lacing, but it looks tasty.

Nose is crisp and lightly spicy, giving a slight acidic resonance to everything else. Characters of olives, seaweed, sawdust, green apple peel and even a touch of noble hops (imagine that!). Perhaps not as weird as it might have been on the nose (indeed, there's a touch of the Kristalweizen to it), but solid enough.

Taste is more odd, with a crisp acidity and light body that immediately reminds me of a Berliner Weisse. While it doesn't have the true funky finish, or the depth of sourness, it has the very crisp lightness. Salt comes forward on the back, giving a weird way to wash out the palate. Not a huge amount of character overall, but I like that even though it's light, the characters it has are unusual.

A very dry but crisp and unusual beer. Surprisingly moreish.

appearance: 4.0 | aroma: 4.0 | taste: 3.5 | feel: 3.5 | drinkability: 4.0